Poll: Will Baruto Gain His Yokozuna Promotion in Osaka?

It’s been reported by the Yokozuna Deliberation Council that if Baruto was able to even Jun-Yusho with twelve wins next basho that he could be considered for promotion to Yokozuna. We’d like to hear your thoughts on the matter. Check our facebook poll here: http://www.facebook.com/questions/317055038331331/?qa_ref=qd or feel free to vote in the comments as well. Do you think he’ll gain the promotion?

Source: http://www.daily.co.jp/sumo/2012/01/24/0004764524.shtml

3 responses to “Poll: Will Baruto Gain His Yokozuna Promotion in Osaka?

  1. I’m a Barty fan but I’m apparently feeling pessimistic today. I have faith that he can manage 12 wins no problem in Osaka but unless it’s a repeat performance of January I don’t think they’ll give him the Yokozuna nod. Then again, Hakuho has said in the past that he misses having a rival (and I enjoyed the Yokozuna battles of yore, it was certainly exciting for the sport) so maybe the powers that be will in fact make these rumors a reality.

  2. Baruto is a good wrestler, but he is not the equal of Hakuho.

    If they promose him, then he will become the junior Yokozuna.

  3. I’m a big Baruto fan, and I’m excited that he seems to have gotten his mojo back recently. Do I believe they’ll promote him if he gets 12 in Osaka…? I’m not sure, and I’m not sure they should. But what I think is most important is that he believes it’s possible. He knows he’s not as good as Hakuho and he never will be. I think for a while he thought there wasn’t much point in trying. But he can be very, very good when he does try, and I think if he believes he’s up for promotion we’ll see some exciting sumo in Osaka.

Leave a Reply

