Kyushu Basho Warm Up

At the risk of being boring, all I have to say by way of a warm-up this basho is that I’m still following my interest in Homasho and I am glad to see him ranked at Komusubi.  I hope to see him kachi-koshi this time.  A year ago, Homasho was also ranked Komusubi and he went 4-11 at Kyushu last year.  I would like to think Homie has improved over the last year, and this is the basho to find out.

Feeling the lack of inspiration, I asked the fellow commentators at Sumo and Stogies to step in and let you know what they would be following.  I’m glad to find that I have a fellow commentator rooting for a rival rikishi.

Daly has this to say about Myogiryu:

Myogiryu is one to watch this basho. This reporter believes Myogiryu will be the next Ozeki. Period. He went 10-5 last basho in his debut as a Sekiwake. It might take him some time, but mark my word, the forward moving, fearless, aggressive rikishi from Hyogo prefecture will be an Ozeki. Don’t be surprised if he gets a kinboshi and beats 3 out of the five Ozeki at the Kyushu Basho.

The last time Daly and I went head to head in rooting for a rikishi, I was, as always, rooting for Homasho and Daly was rooting for Okinoumi, both rikishi were ranked M1 in that basho.  Last time, Homasho was able to outperform Okinoumi, but this time I have to concede that outperforming Myogiryu will be both very hard and a long shot.

In other news, this will be Harumafuji’s first basho as a Yokozuna – I hold off on saying whether this is a good thing or a bad thing until after I see his performance this basho.  My eyes, for the first time in a long while, will be on the top of the banzuke this basho – hopefully, this means that Sumo as normal (with all its normal problems) has returned and the scandals are over.

I’m looking for some wood to knock on after making that last statement, but this post has come out kind of limp, and it looks like Daly hasn’t gotten his post up yet either.  Don’t you worry though, Daly is gonna get it up for you and then this basho is going to start rocking.

Leave a Reply

