Natsu Basho 2013 Nakabi

MatagiyamaTis hump day in Ryogoku Kokugikan…the home of sumo in Tokyo.  I’m flat out gutted that we’ve gotten more than halfway through this basho, but due to working overtime I’ve yet to see any live action this basho.  I probably won’t get to see any live action until I meet up with these other bastards on Saturday at Creswell’s place.  But even then, the “live action” I’ll see probably won’t involve sumo.

Greetings the two of three of you out there still reading into paracrap number two.  I was drunk yesterday on Japanese wine of all things.  Two bottles of it will do that to you, but for some reason I was drinking Japanese red wine while drinking coffee at the same time which left me in this vegetable-like state, staring at the ceiling for hours at a time.  I told Mrs. Valentine to wake me after twenty minutes so I could write my report.  She forgot and woke me after four hours.  It was near midnight, so instead I am currently writing this report while cruising on the Hayabusa shinkansen to Tokyo for a business meeting.  Could I be any more Japaneseey?  I suppose I could, but I wouldn’t want to offend our Chinese readers.

Moving on to some highlights of the day, Huffy-n-Puffy Masunoyama had a nice tsuppari going all around the ring, but slicker than a barrel full of snakes Chiyonokuni batted off the magic dragon and improved to 4-4-.  Masunoyama fell to 4-4.

By the way, streaming while in tunnels doesn’t work!

Hakuho’s protoge Daikiho has started off Makuuchi 0-7, but got his first win today against Mongol Shotenro.  DykieHoe was moving backward the whole time and got lucky.  I’d say that’s not Makuuchi-level sumo, but then you have Takekaze so I correct myself.

I was interested in seeing old timer Kyokutenho fight fellow Mongol and Makuuchi newbie Azumaryu.  Both descendents of Ghenghis Khan are 3-4 (actually, dna has proven something like one in four Asian men are descendents of Ghenghis Khan).  The two wrapped up pretty much evenly but Azumaryu tried a throw first but it got him off balance enough for the old man to finish him.  Kyokutenho improves to 4-4 while Azumaryu falls 3-5.

I tell you , if I had a nickel for each time the feed cuts out due to tunnels I’d pick up a box full of Cohibas for everyone next weekend.

Kaisei worked over Ikioi but foolishly stepped out before his helpless opponent.  Get’s the loss.

Jokoryu got his first win of the basho against a ailing Wakanosato, who has taken the path led by Takamisakari and Miyabiyama earlier this year.  Wakanosato sure had his time, but it must be painful to be overwhelmed by a youngster like the Joker who hasn’t even gotten a win yet.

Tokitenku has been a different man this first half of this basho.  Leg trippin’?  Ain’t nobody got time for dat!  Some good ole’ belt work gave Tokidoki the W against Shohozan.  I suppose that gold mawashi was too sweet to resist!  Tokitenku improves to 6-2.

Baruto is out with an injury so bad, we can call this possibly a career-ending injury.  If he comes back in July, he’ll be in the lower half of Makuuchi, but I for one wouldn’t be surprised if he decided to check out and focus on his cattle ranching.

The bout of the day was Okinoumi vs. Kakuryu.  The two locked up hidari-yotsu, and both getting only one loose strand of the opponents belt for their right hand grips.  Really, Don Juan was happy just to dance cheek to cheek, but the Kak tried a few leg humps and driving forward.  Eventually Don Juan was pooped and the Kak finished him off.  Kakuryu remains unbeaten this basho and has been a lot of fun to watch.

Another unbeaten, Kisenosato, kept his record perfect by easily tossing out yesterday’s great hope, Goeido.

Kotooshu picked up a rare win over Tochiozan by henka-ing to the side and driving out Elvis.  Kotooshu improves to 5-3 and needs three more wins in the next seven days to shake that kadoban monkey.

Hakuho let Aran get chest-to-chest in a hidari-yotsu battle which latest around 45 seconds, but let’s not kid ourselves: Hakuho was in control the whole time.  Hakuho improves to 8-0 and stays at the top of the leaderboard.

Hakumafuji shoved Toyonoshima’s head about three feet behind his body.  It was rather comedic, as the Yokozuna improves to 6-2, and needs to pick up at least another six wins to avoid useless YDC grumbles.

Leaderboard has Hakuho, Kisenosato, and Kakuryu undefeated, and five men led by Harumafuji with two losses.

Thanks for stopping by.  I’m about five minutes out of Tokyo Station.  Until Senshuraku…

 

 

Leave a Reply

